Louise Maher began her studies at St John’s Central College, Cork and received a BA Hons Degree in Photography from Edinburgh College of Art in 2006.  Her series have been widely exhibited and published. In 2011, she completed an MA in Photography at the University of Brighton.  She is co-founder of Cork Photo Festival & Gallery and is currently experimenting with new ways to engage with past works.


Naomi Smith is a photographer who gets excited about developing collaborative projects. Born on the Isle of Man she now lives by the sea in East Cork. Graduating from St John’s Central College in 2006, she went on to open The Darkroom a public photographic resource in Cork City. As Co-founder of Cork Photo Festival & Gallery Naomi currently enjoys working in the gallery and developing personal projects.

Project Coordinators


Colin Aherne was born in Cork, Ireland. He graduated from Photographic Studies at St. John’s Central College, Cork in 2012. Colin is currently working independently on personal photography projects, primarily with analogue techniques. He is also founding curator of Howl photo-zine, an online photography platform promoting projects from both established and emerging photographers.


Izabela Szczutkowska was born in Wrocław, Poland. Specialising in analogue photography and darkroom printing she graduated from St. John’s College, Cork in 2012. Recognised for her uniquely dark approach to portraiture and landscapes, she has built up an impressive portfolio of national and international collaborations. Her time in Ireland has seen her working closely with a number of Irish musicians and artists as well as curating exhibitions in cork city.


Colette Lewis is an artist and educator working with video, photography and installation, often incorporating a collaborative process engaged with place and social context. She studied Sculpture in LSAD and in 2010 received an MA in Visual Art Practices from Dun Laoghaire IADT. For many years Colette has been involved in the running and programming of artist-led spaces currently a Director in the Cork Artists Collective and founder member of The Guesthouse project.



We would like to say a huge thanks to our volunteers who have helped out in so many ways.

Claudia Fasano – Lucrezia Signori – Caterina Ursi – Maeve Power – Sarah Riordan – Eoghan Heffernan – Kristina Skripkovskay – Caterina Cristiano – Matthew Forde – Derek Binchy